Welcome to the official website of JW Troemner.

Author of The Dealmaker’s Gambit, the Urban Dragon Series, and Tatter and Shine

Search Term Bingo!

Published by

on

If you’re not familiar, popular author and awesome blogger Chuck Wendig does a little ditty known as Search Term Bingo. The deal is thus:

WordPress includes a feature where it tells us what search terms led people to our site. Some of them make perfect sense. Others, however, can get downright silly. So what Chuck does (and what I’ll be doing today) is post the latest search terms and add commentary. Some of these are variations on the same theme, so I’ll be combining them.

So without further ado, here we go:

BIOSHOCK INFINITE FORESHADOWING

Seriously, this is the single most searched-for thing that gets people here, in one way or another. Personally, I’m curious how many of you lovely readers are video game fans, and if you’d like more stuff in that particular direction. I’m also quite pleased with how good the writing has gotten in video games in recent years.

WHOSE LINE IS YOURE A WIZARD HARRY

That would be Rubeus Hagrid: a half-giant and animal lover from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter novels, who once delivered a baby on a motorcycle. True story, yo.

On that subject, someone asked for a TIELINE OF HARRY POTTER BOOKS

I don’t have a tieline, but here’s a picture of my husband’s tie-hangar. Three guesses who gave him the fish tie~

20130707_232037

USING SCRIVENER

I happen to use Scrivener a lot– it’s probably tied with Microsoft Word for my favorite word processing program. However, if you’re thinking about getting it, I recommend going for NaNoWriMo first: one of the prizes for winning is a heavy discount for the software.

BEATING DEPRESSION

I did write a post on warding off the return of depression, though this isn’t usually the stuff that works when you’re in the depths of it. At a time like that, sometimes you just need to find your corn.

THE HOBBIT ARCHETYPES QUESTION

Bilbo is the Reluctant Hero. Gandalf is the Wise Old Mentor who has to vanish in order for the Reluctant Hero to actually do any heroic stuff. I’ll actually be doing a post on the subject later on this month.

DIY COMMAR

Dammit, how’s you figure out I live in Indiana? Now I’ll never be able to warsh my car in peace!

HAMLET “SEEMS? I KNOW NOT SEEMS” WHAT ACT AND SCENE IS THIS FROM

Act 1, Scene 2. Now let me point you to my dear friend No Fear Shakespeare, who got me through entirely too much of my high school career.

STANDING ST FORK ON THE ROAD

Here you go. This is St. Fork, the made-up patron saint of tableware. He is standing on the road.

20130707_233721

LIFE GIVING ARCHETYPE

That’s usually a Mother archetype, also frequently associated with the moon and water, thanks to the monthly nature of moon phases, tides, and menstruation.

Didn’t think I’d actually say it, didja?

5 responses to “Search Term Bingo!”

  1. Lesa Townsend Avatar

    Your Search Term Bingo was highly entertaining. I looked at the search terms used to find my site and only found the types of querries that you would expect — nothing entertaining at all.

    FYI: For those who have blogs that aren’t on WordPress.com, Google Analyitics will give you the same info (if you know where to look — and have it set up).

    Like

    1. jwtroemner Avatar

      Thank you~ And thanks for the information!

      Like

  2. Danuta Avatar

    Everything said made a bunch of sense. However, what about this?

    suppose you typed a catchier post title? I ain’t suggesting your information is
    not solid., however suppose you added something to possibly get a person’s attention?
    I mean Search Term Bingo! | Questions and Archetypes is a little plain.
    You should peek at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create article titles to grab viewers
    to click. You might add a video or a picture or two to get readers interested
    about what you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it could bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

    Like

    1. jwtroemner Avatar

      These are really great ideas. Thank you for the pointer~

      Like

  3. Wilfred Avatar
    Wilfred

    Addmiring thee commitment yyou put into ykur website
    and inn depth information youu offer. It’s awwesome too coje across a blog evry once iin a while that isn’t the
    same outt of dage rehashed information. Wonderful read!
    I’ve saved yor site and I’m including your RSS feeds too myy Google account.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.